Home/Latest News
AFL Queensland
Brisbane Lions
Gold Coast FC
Ways to get involved
Contact us


Queensland Footy History

Qld Footy History Overview
19th Century
1903 to 1914
1915 to 1926
1927 to 1940
1941 to 1958
1959 to 1971
1972 to 1986
1987 to 1999
2000 to 2010
2011 to present
Qld Footy Hall of Fame
Qld Players in VFL/AFL
Brisbane Lions History
Gold Coast Suns History
The AFL Competition - Overview and History

Queensland Australian Football Hall of Fame

Launch of Hall of Fame - 30th October 2008

Anyone who had any doubts about the passion, the history and the unique culture of AFL footy in Queensland need only have attended the launch of the Queensland Australian Football Hall of Fame at the Gabba on the evening of 30th October 2008.

A crowd of 700 attended the black-tie function where 150 players, coaches, teams, administrators, journalists and other footballing personalities became the inaugural inductees in the Queensland Australian Football Hall of Fame.

It was a special evening, a chance for old acquaintances to be renewed and for new friendships, based on a common passion, to be born.  The only problem was that it wasn’t long enough to meet everyone there. 

Forensics member Greg Parker had the honour of accepting the certificate of induction on behalf of the Brisbane Football Club of 1866 to 1886 - the first footy club in Queensland.  The certificate can be seen at the right of screen, and more details of the inaugural Brisbane club can be found at the AFLQ website here:

Brisbane club of 1866 to 1886

Seven ‘Legends’ of the game were named at the end of the evening, and they are as follows:

Arthur Collinson
Selfless administrator of the game for many years from 1903 when his efforts had much to do with the revival of the code.  Was also a highly-respected umpire.

Harry O’Callaghan
Filled a variety of roles as player, coach, administrator and umpire from the 1920s until the 1970s, and was the Queensland delegate to the National Football Council for many years.

Dick Verdon
Champion full-back who played with Sandgate and Coorparoo.  Captained and coached the state.

Tom McArthur
Umpired 502 senior games from 1959 to 1985, a national record.  In 2008 became the first resident Queenslander to be inducted into the AFL Hall of Fame.

Jason Dunstall
Born-and-bred Queenslander who played for Coorparoo before becoming a champion Hawthorn full-forward who kicked 1254 goals in 269 AFL games.

Leigh Matthews
Hawthorn great who won eight best-and-fairest awards with the club, playing in four premierships.  Coached Collingwood for ten years, including the 1990 flag, before a tremendous decade as Brisbane Lions coach which featured a hat-trick of premierships.

Michael Voss
Morningside junior who won the Brownlow Medal in 1996 before captaining the Brisbane Lions to their three consecutive flags.  A champion who played 289 AFL games, he was appointed coach of the Lions for 2009.

Detailed information on the seven Legends, and images of all, can be found at the AFLQ website here:

Seven inaugural Legends

The 150 inductees were separated into four different eras: (i) Pre-1955, (ii) 1955 to 1975, (iii) 1975 to 1990, and (iv) 1990 to 2008.  Here are details and images of the inductees in their respective eras on the AFLQ website: 

Pre-1955 - Part 1
Pre-1955 - Part 2
1955 to 1975 - Part 1
1955 to 1975 - Part 2
1975 to 1990 - Part 1
1975 to 1990 - Part 2
1975 to 1990 - Part 3
1990 to 2008 - Part 1
1990 to 2008 - Part 2

A PDF file of the booklet giving details of all 150 inductees can be found here, and is also accessible from the AFLQ website:

150 inductees

A wrap-up of the launch can be found at the AFLQ website here:

Launch of Queensland Australian Football Hall of Fame

2010 Hall of Fame inductees

Marcus Ashcroft was elevated to ‘Legend’ status in the Queensland Australian Football Hall of Fame at the 2010 Grogan Medal dinner on the 6th September.  Ashcroft, who with the Brisbane Lions became the first Queenslander to play 300 AFL games, becomes the eighth Queensland Hall of Fame ‘Legend’.  He is now the Football Manager of the Gold Coast Suns.

Details of all of the 2010 inductees can be found at the AFLQ website here.

Selected images
(images are clickable)

Arthur Collinson, from a 1907 newspaper.

Harry O’Callaghan, from a 1929 newspaper.

Certificate of induction granted to the 1866 Brisbane Football Club.

Last Modified:  30th March 2012

©2012 Greg Parker